The 2019 Otherwise Award was announced on April 11, 2020. Recommendations are open for this year's Otherwise Award.

Award Information

Conference Information

  • Award Year: 2019
  • Award Year Number: Year 29

Award Winner

The 2019 jury chose 1 work for the Otherwise Award.

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi (Grove Press, 2018)

Work Information

Title: FreshwaterAuthor:
Publisher Name: Grove PressYear: 2018
Work Type: Novel

Award Honor List

The 2019 jury chose 9 works for the Honor List

Dreamborn, , (Bedside Press, 2019)

Work Information

Title: DreambornAuthors: , Work Type: Short Fiction
Title: Maiden, Mother, Crone Editors: Gwen Benaway, Publisher: Bedside PressYear: 2019

The Book of Flora, (47North Press, 2019)

Work Information

Title: The Book of FloraAuthor: Work Type: NovelPublisher: 47North PressYear: 2019

Pet, (Make Me a World Press, 2019)

Work Information

Title: PetAuthor: Work Type: NovelPublisher: Make Me a World PressYear: 2019

Meet Me in the Future, (Tachyon Publications, 2019)

Work Information

Title: Meet Me in the FutureAuthor: Work Type: CollectionPublisher: Tachyon PublicationsYear: 2019

Of Warps and Wefts, (Strange Horizons, 2018)

Work Information

Title: Of Warps and WeftsAuthor: Work Type: Short FictionPublisher: Strange HorizonsYear: 2018

The Calculating Stars, (Tor Books, 2018)

Work Information

Title: The Calculating StarsAuthor: Work Type: NovelPublisher: Tor BooksYear: 2018

The Elemental Logic Series (Series), (Small Beer Press, 2002-2019)

Work Information

Title: The Elemental Logic Series (Series)Author: Work Type: SeriesPublisher: Small Beer PressYear: 2002-2019

The Lonesome Bodybuilder, (Soft Skull Press, 2018)

Work Information

Title: The Lonesome BodybuilderAuthor: Work Type: CollectionOriginal Language: JapaneseTranslator: Asa YonedaPublisher: Soft Skull PressYear: 2018

The Deep, (Gallery / Saga Press, 2019)

Work Information

Title: The DeepAuthor: Work Type: NovelPublisher: Gallery / Saga PressYear: 2019


  • Debbie Notkin (chair)
  • Bogi Takács.
  • Ed Chang
  • Trish Salah
  • Mariana Calderon