The 2020 Otherwise Award was announced on September 7, 2021. Recommendations are now open for this year's Otherwise Award.

Award Information

Conference Information

  • Award Year: 2020
  • Award Year Number: Year 30

Award Winner

The 2020 jury chose 1 work for the Otherwise Award.

Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Aurelia Leo, 2020)

Work Information

Title: Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of ImadeyunuagbonAuthor:
Title: Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora Editors: Zelda Knight, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki
Publisher Name: Aurelia LeoYear: 2020
Work Type: Short Fiction

Award Honor List

The 2020 jury chose 8 works for the Honor List

The Four Profound Weaves, , (Tachyon Publications, 2020)

Work Information

Title: The Four Profound WeavesSeries: BirdverseSeries Number: Author: Work Type: Short FictionPublisher: Tachyon PublicationsYear: 2020

Work Information

Title: City of a Thousand FeelingsAuthor: Work Type: NovelPublisher: Aqueduct PressYear: 2020

Work Information

Title: The Mermaid, the Witch, and the SeaAuthor: Work Type: NovelPublisher: Candlewick PressYear: 2020View on ISFDB

Depart, Depart!, (Stelliform Press, 2020)

Work Information

Title: Depart, Depart!Author: Work Type: NovelPublisher: Stelliform PressYear: 2020

The Seep, (Soho Press, 2020)

Work Information

Title: The SeepAuthor: Work Type: NovelPublisher: Soho PressYear: 2020View on ISFDB

Helicopter Story, (Clarkesworld, 2020)

Work Information

Title: Helicopter StoryAuthor: Work Type: Short FictionPublisher: ClarkesworldYear: 2020

Custom Options Available, (Fireside Magazine, 2020)

Work Information

Title: Custom Options AvailableAuthor: Work Type: Short FictionPublisher: Fireside MagazineYear: 2020View on ISFDB

The Moon Room, (Kaleidotrope, 2020)

Work Information

Title: The Moon RoomAuthor: Work Type: Short FictionPublisher: KaleidotropeYear: 2020


  • Liz Henry (chair)
  • Chesya Burke
  • M.L. Clark
  • Annalee Newitz
  • Tochi Onyebuchi