The Otherwise Award is pleased to announce that the award ceremony for the 2010 Otherwise Award winner(s) has been held, and the winners have received their award and accolades.

Award Information

Conference Information

  • Award Year: 2010
  • Award Year Number: Year 20
  • Conference: WisCon 35
  • Date: 30-05-2011
  • Location: Madison, WI

Award Winner

The 2010 jury chose 1 work for the Otherwise Award.

Baba Yaga Laid an Egg by Dubravka Ugresic (Canongate, 2010)

Baba Yaga Laid an Egg by Dubravka Ugresic impressed with its power and its grace. Tiptree juror Jessa Crispin explains that the beginning of the book “does not scream science fiction or fantasy. It starts quietly, with a meditation on the author’s aging mother, and the invisibility of the older woman…. But things shift wholly in the second act, with a surreal little tale of three old ladies, newly moneyed, who check into an Eastern European health spa. There’s another revolution in the third act, where what looks like a scholarly examination of the Russian fairy tale hag erupts into a rallying cry for mistreated and invisible women everywhere.”

Crispin notes that the fairy tale figure Baba Yaga is the witch, the hag, the inappropriate wild woman, the marginalized and the despised. She represents inappropriateness, wilderness, and confusion. “She’s appropriate material for Ugresic, who was forced into exile from Croatia for her political beliefs. The jurors feel Baba Yaga Laid an Egg is a splendid representation of this type of woman, so cut out of today’s culture.”

Work Information

Title: Baba Yaga Laid an EggAuthor:
Publisher Name: CanongateCountry: UKYear: 2010
Work Type: NovelOriginal Language: English
Dubravka Ugresic – Baba Yaga Laid an Egg
Dubravka Ugresic – Baba Yaga Laid an Egg

Award Honor List

The 2010 jury chose 8 works for the Honor List

The Bone Palace, The Necromancer Chronicles Book 2, (Orbit, UK, 2010)

Noted for a deliciously complicated plot that challenges 21st century Earth attitudes toward transfolk. One juror noted that this book came closest among the honor list to meeting her Tiptree ideal by including a character that not only embodies a challenge to prescribed roles, but also creates a crack in or addition to the structure that carries forward to future generations.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, Book One of the Inheritance Trilogy, (Orbit, UK, 2010)

Set in a matriarchal society where the privilege and expectations between the sexes are reversed, while the gender roles are different but recognizable (and believable).

A (true) love story, in which the author does something simple but radical with the identity issues at play.

Drag Queen Astronaut, (Crossed Genres, US, 2010)

A wonderful exploration (and ultimately an affirmation) of a gender presentation that tends to be ignored or ridiculed.

The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of Science Fiction Feminisms, (Aqueduct Press, US, 2009)

An academic look at the history of early feminism in science fiction, science fiction criticism, and fandom that provides a valuable documentation of our beginnings

Who Fears Death, (DAW Books, US, 2010)

A strong female lead character breaks out of restrictive gender roles to change her life, perhaps changing history as a result. A well-written perspective on prejudice and discrimination and the lessons needed to overcome their bonds on our identities and imaginations.

Living with Ghosts, (DAW Books, US, 2009)

An unusual perspective in a main character —a feminized man who makes much of his living as an escort/high-class sex worker who sees ghosts when he is not expecting — or expected — to be able to do so. An excellent read.

The Colony, (Soft Skull Press, US, 2010)

Takes on the idea that pervades our culture that women have to be perfect in order to have sex with men. One juror notes: “I’ve never read a book that made a woman with one leg so sexually normal.” Smart and well written with subtle gender politics.

Award Long List

The 2010 jury chose 9 works for the Long List


  • Penny Hill (chair)
  • Euan Bear
  • Jessa Crispin
  • Alice Sola Kim
  • Lawrence Schimel

Award Ceremony

The 2011 Otherwise Award was given to Dubravka Ugresic at WisCon 35, May 30, 2013, in Madison, Wisconsin.